Joel

P90x Day Eight! workout, rest, repeat

In Fitness on February 24, 2009 at 9:23 am

I slacked on the blogging this weekend, but not in working out. Well, okay…only half slacked on the working out. Friday’s social excursion impacted the whole weekend. As I said before, I managed to get Legs & Back with Ab Ripper X in on Saturday. On Sunday, Mandie was sick and I got sucked into the warm bed-laziness. I should have done X Stretch or YogaX, but I didn’t. Monday morning, my arms were STIFF! Not “sore”. I could barely will my arms to straighten out, my forearms and biceps were seriously bound up so tight, I walked around with robot arms all day. I guess that’s what happens when you don’t stretch out properly.

I can only explain why my arms hurt more after this workout than the first Chest & Arms workout by accounting for actually using the pull up bar instead of the bands. Wow. There are muscles in my arms I have probably never really put to task before. I dreaded actually doing Chest & Arms Monday evening. Pushing the two arm workouts so close together by shifting Friday to Saturday was going to be my undoing.

I needn’t have worried, however. Tony got me nice and warmed up and my arms were more relaxed, if not totally limber, for Chest&Arms. While my counts were much lower than day one, when I was using only the resistance bands, I could really feel the workout. It was delicious! I still wish I had a weightier dumbbell set for things like Heavy Pants or the Shoulder Flys, though.

Ab Ripper X was not a “breeze”, but I got most of the way through it before hunger set in and I needed to cool off and go make dinner. I really need to figure out how I can get the full 75 minutes done in the morning, plus my devotional time with God. I guess I need to set the alarm up to go off at 4:00am. 😦

Feeling pretty good today. Up bright (not so bright) and early (well, earlier than usual) for a men’s meeting. It went well, but someone brought in DONUTS at work for Fat Tuesday. I only had half a butter cream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

