Joel

P90x – Day 16 – Give me Fuel, Give me Fire…

In Fitness on March 3, 2009 at 8:55 am

I have come to the realization that it’s more important for me to focus my energy on actually working out than posting about it. I also figure (if anyone actually reads this blog) you don’t want to be bored with descriptions of a workout program you may not be familiar with. That’s not to say I am not going to post to my fitness category. This is still going to be a prominent part of my site. Instead of trying to make this a daily journal (something I’ve never been good at), I’m going to try to use these posts to share discoveries or observations about fitness as I progress through my journey.

Observation#1: Support and accountability are probably as important as the exercises you choose to do. Over at TeamBeachbody.com, I have found a few incredible people and some awesome support groups to discuss and share with. Many people have gone through these programs multiple times and are in terrific shape. Others are just starting out with me. Some are just a few weeks ahead. It’s awesome to look at people’s posts from a few weeks ago and see that they’re going through the same struggles I am.

Observation#2: Food is also important. This morning, I woke up at 5:00AM and got downstairs to do Plyo. I wasn’t “feeling it’ like I have in the past. I chalk this up to the face that I was working on am empty tank. I’m looking for a good pre-workout fuel (not breakfast) that will allow me to stoke the fires and get to work.

I also came upon a terrific verse in Psalms that I am trying to commit to memory:

Psalms 18:31-36
31Who is God but the LORD? Who is a rock except our God?
32 God arms me with strength and makes my way perfect.
33 He makes my feet like those of a deer and gives me sure footing on high places.
34 He trains my hands for battle so that my arms can bend an archer’s bow of bronze.
35 You have given me the shield of your salvation. Your right hand supports me. Your gentleness makes me great.
36 You make a wide path for me to walk on so that my feet do not slip.

  1. I always found that my Pylo was ‘way underrated if I hadn’t eaten anything beforehand.

    And I agree with you about the forums – there’s dozens of P90x sub-groups in which tons of support can be found. It’s a great place.

Leave a Reply

